Premiere: Man Forever, “Ur Eternity”

This video is this: Sto, a Brooklyn painter (you may recognize his work from any picture of any show at 285 Kent – his black spirals are the behind-the-stage mural) hangs a giant canvas behind Kid Millions, who is beginning his daily drumroll meditation. Sto begins to paint with a watered-down black; the twists and turns of his work drip down the canvas. Kid Millions drums and an ambient tone joins him. Someone walks in and takes an iPhone photo of the creation. Sto's spiky head bobs and dips as he adds a dab here, a dab there. Another drummer joins Kid Millions and the drum-roll is doubled: the camera vibrates and bubbles. Sto is wearing a Flipper parody shirt that says "Sex Bong Baby". He starts to paint the floor with his fluid, subconscious lines. We see the paint; we see the cameraman, Nick Chatfield-Taylor, who is responsible for the best Parts & Labor music videos. Sto keeps painting; grey is added; yellow is splashed, an oboist joins Kid Millions. For another ten minutes or so (we're at minute seven now), Sto continues to paint and musicians continue to join Kid Millions mantra-esque jam session; the pressure is building into the gradual fade; the transcendentalist in the walls meets the transcendentalist in the music, and their ghosts mingle freely in the air.

Man Forever is on tour now. His album, Pansophical Cataract, is available on Thrill Jockey.

Thu Jun 7 Cleveland, OH – Pat's In The Flats
Fri Jun 8 Detroit, MI – The El Club
Sat Jun 9 Minneapolis, MN – Turf Club
Sun Jun 10 Milwaukee, WI – Quarters Rock & Roll Palace
Mon Jun 11 Madison, WI – Mickey's Tavern
Tue Jun 12 Chicago, IL – The Burlington
Wed Jun 13 South Bend, IN – Langlab
Thu Jun 14 Toronto, ON – Double Double Land
Fri Jun 15 Buffalo, NY – The Polish Library
Sat Jun 16 Montreal, QC – The Plant
Sun Jun 17 Burlington, VT – The Monkey House
Mon Jun 18 Rochester, NY – Bug Jar
Tue Jun 19 Easthampton, MA – The Flywheel Arts Collective
Wed Jun 20 Binghamton, NY – Deddkathaus
Thu Jun 21 Providence, RI – The Black Box w/ Black Pus
Sun Jun 24 Hudson, NY – The Spotty Dog
Mon Jun 25 Boston, MA – Great Scott
Tue Jun 26 New London, CT – 33
Wed Jun 27 Bridgeport, CT – Acoustic Cafe
Thu Jun 28 Albany, NY – Valentine's
Fri Jun 29 Brooklyn, NY – Issue Project Room
Wed Jul 11 New York, NY – The Stone

Sign up for the IMPOSE Entertainment Email Newsletter

powered by ArcaMax

Impose Privacy Policy

Tags: , , ,

 
Impose Main

image_of_WHY_in_concert

Sign up for the IMPOSE Entertainment Email Newsletter

powered by ArcaMax

Updates sent straight to your inbox, YOU DONT HAVE TO LIFT A FINGER

x
people_at_concert

Sign up for the IMPOSE Entertainment Email Newsletter

powered by ArcaMax

Thousands of your peers have already signed up.

So what are you waiting for?

x