Week in Pop: Barbarian, Jimmy Turturici, The Gods Themselves

Post Author:

While we continue to make sense of what 2016 meant, Impose’s Week in Pop counts our collective blessings & thanks by presenting a showcase of exclusives from some of our favorite artists. But first with a rundown of the buzziest headlines from this week, we learned that Dude York signed with Sub Pop darlings Hardly Art Records with the announcement of the new album Sincerely available February 24 & dropped “Black Jack”; Kanye said he “would’ve voted for Trump” & the rant only became more epic; Melbourne’s Roland Tings signed to Cascine & dropped “Eyes Closed”; Lil Yachty dropped the video for “Minnesota” ft. Quavo & Skippa da Flippa off Yachty’s Lil Boat mixtape; Sylvan Esso just followed up their track “Radio” & dropped “Kick Jump Twist”; Hodgy (Odd Future’s Hodgy Beats of MellowHype & myriad OFWGKTA projects) announced debut solo album Fireplace: TheNotTheOtherSide available December 9 from Columbia ft. appearances from Lil Wayne, Busta Rhymes, Salomon Faye, BADBADNOTGOOD, Knxwledge, Nottz, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, etc. & dropped the video for “Barbell”; A Tribe Called Quest dropped the video for “We The People…” off their final album We got it from Here… Thank You 4 Your service; Molly Burch signed to Captured Tracks with the announcement of her upcoming album debut Please Be Mine available February 17 & dropped “Try”; Xiu Xiu’s new album FORGET will be available February 24 from Polyvinyl & dropped “Wondering”; D.R.A.M. & Neil Young collaboration footage emerges from Rick Rubin’s Shangri-La Studios; Anton Newcombe from The Brian Jonestown Massacre & Emil Nikolaisen from Serena Maneesh will lead Pure Phase Ensemble 6 at SpaceFest! 2016; Young Thug launched the new imprint YSL Records; Shigeto dropped “What Are We Made?” where all donations made will be directed to Planned Parenthood; Alan McGee announced that the Jesus & Mary Chain will release their first album in 18 plus years in March through Warner Bros.; Jhené Aiko dropped “Maniac”; The Weeknd dropped “I Feel It Coming” ft. Daft Punk & “Party Monster“; Phoenix tease new album & to play first show in three years at the Spanish fest Bilbao BBK Live; Chavez announced new material in two decades with news that their Cockfighters EP will be available January 13 through Matador & dropped “The Bully Boys”; Childish Gambino dropped “Redbone”; Rae Sremmurd appeared on “SportsCenter”; BADBADNOTGOOD dropped the Fantavious Fritz video for “Lavender” ft. Kaytranada; L7 dropped the “It’s Go Time” clip from their new documentary L7: Pretend We’re Dead; Metallica dropped the Herring & Herring video for “Now That We’re Dead”; Vangelis to release a 13-album box set titled Delectus available February 3 from UMC/Polydor; weirdness abounds in the new Johnny Cash back Forever Words: The Unknown Poems; Bruno Mars dropped the album 24K Magic ft. Halle Berry; The Killers dropped the holiday album Don’t Waste Your Wishes; The Grateful Dead are reissuing their discography in honor of the fiftieth anniversary of their their self-titled which will be repressed January 20; the estate of Prince versus Jay Z’s Roc Nation regarding Tidal streaming rights; Freddie Gibbs dropped “All Day” produced by Harry Fraud; Dr. Dre & 50 Cent lawsuit over “P.I.M.P.” dismissed; PWR BTTM show in Jackson, Mississippi picketed by bigots; What.CD torrent site closed down; Bob Dylan will not attend his reception of the Nobel Prize in Literature at the December 10 Stockholm ceremony; we lament the passing of jazz pianist & vocalist Mose Allison; Morrisey canceled a show in Boulder, Colorado after keyboardist Gustavo Manzur recently collapsed backstage; and we lament the passing of the inspirational & courageous Sharon Jones.

As we continue to give thanks, we bring you breaking exclusives from Barbarian, Jimmy Turturici, The Gods Themselves, Haste, IC3PEAK, Nicholas Roberts, R. Stevie Moore, Shadow Band, Tangina Stone, Your Grace Adrianna Natalie, featuring guest selections by Factory Floor & more—in no particular order.