Week in Pop: Cool Calm Chrys, Lemuria, Yared Kiflai

Post Author: Sjimon Gompers

In the wake of Net Neutrality’s repeal, Impose’s Week in Pop remains committed to championing the international arts & artists of interest everywhere for as long as we possibly can. Providing a platform of freedom & liberty for today & tomorrow’s talents, we bring you the latest breaking media exclusives with first the following top story news blotter with word that Danny Brown declared that Mount Eerie’s album A Crow Looked at Me is 2017’s best album; Black Thought’s 10 minute freestyle; DRAM & Neil Young dropped “Campfire”; Grimes hinted at new music; Xenia Rubinos dropped the single “Levitating” ft. Sammus & Olga Bell via ANTI & announced tour with Tune-Yards; Vic Mensa dropped the video for “We Could Be Free”; Avey Tare dropped the animated Jack Kubizne video for “Ms. Secret”; Boy Azooga dropped the Mikey Young (of Total Control) & Hookworms remixes for “Face Behind Her Cigarette“; Gorilla vs. Bear boss Chris Cantalini launched the imprint Luminelle Recordings with Fat Possum distro hub House Arrest; Hanz dropped “King Speed” off the Plasty I EP available January 19 via Tri Angle Records; Joey Dosik signed to Secretly Canadian & dropped the Rob Stenson video for “Game Winner” off the EP of the same name available February 23; Shame signed to Dead Oceans announcing their debut album Songs of Praise available January 12 & dropped a live version of “Concrete”; Slim Thug dropped “Boss Talk” ft. Rick Ross & Jack Freeman produced by G&B off The World is Yours; Montero announced the album Performer available February 2 via Chapter Music & dropped the “Vibrations” video & the visual for “Tokin The Night Away“; Charli XCX & Carly Rae Jepsen dropped “Backseat”; N.E.R.D. dropped “Don’t Don’t Do It!” ft. Kendrick Lamar & written by Frank Ocean; Jeezy dropped “American Dream” ft. Kendrick Lamar & J. Cole; Björk remixed “Blissing Me” alongside a serpentwithfeet remix; Thom Yorke debuted “I’m a Very Rude Person”; MC Fioti dropped “Bum Bum Tam Tam” remix ft. Future, J Balvin, Stefflon Don & Juan Magán; Seattle’s Grieves dropped the Ryan Gross aka Pants video for “A-Okay”; A-Trak dropped the Casper & B. remix for “Ray Ban Vision” ft. CyHi the Prynce; Calvin Harris remixed SZA’s “The Weekend”; Bomba Estéreo remixed Arcade Fire’s “Everything Now (Toda Ya)”; Run the Jewels dropped the Brad & Brian Palmer from Surround video for “Call Tickertron”; Heavy Mellow remixed VÉRITÉ’s “Phase Me Out”; Dabrye dropped “Emancipated” ft. Ghostface Killah; Tricky dropped the Indexthumb video for “New Stole” ft. Francesca Belmonte; Doe Paoro dropped the Eduardo Meza video for “Second Door”; Diane Coffee dropped the video for “Poor Man Dan”; Jesse Marchant dropped “Frame For One” off the upcoming album Illusion of Love available January 26 through No Other; Osage, oka Lil’Dave, dropped the Algorhythm Vol.2 EP via Bastard Jazz; Oh Sees dropped the Dr D Foothead, T-Wei & Otis Chamberlain animated video for “Drowned Beast”; NVDES dropped the Jenna Josepher & Jacki Huntington “Everyday” video off Vol. 2; Haim dropped a “Haimukkah” Hanukkah jam; Kehlani covered Tamia’s “So Into You”; Jorja Smith covered Frank Ocean’s “Lost”; The Killers covered “This Charming Man”; Chvrches covered Joni Mitchell’s “River”; Iggy Pop & Jarvis Cocker covered Nick Cave’s “Red Right Hand”; Stephen Malkmus covered the Squidbillies theme song; WAVVES covered “Christmas Time is Here”; HAWAI dropped the video for “Alive” off the Hide in the Ocean EP from Antler Records; NYC’s own Chicken dropped Chicken’s Party ft. Chynna, Dai Burger, Gay Dubstep, etc; Loma’s (Jonathan Meiburg of Shearwater & Emily Cross & Dan Duszynski of Cross Record) self-titled debut will be available February 16 from Sub Pop & dropped “Relay Runner”; Major Lazer dropped the Juan Pablo Valencia video for “Buscando Huellas” ft. J Balvin & Sean Paul; MXMS dropped “Carol of the Bells”; American Nightmare announced their first album in 15 years with the self-titled available February 16 & dropped “The World is Blue”; EDEN dropped “crash” off the upcoming release vertigo; MGMT dropped the Mike Burakoff & Hallie Cooper-Novack video for “When You Die”; Lily Allen dropped “Trigger Bang” ft. Giggs; Phoebe Bridgers dropped the video for their Conor Oberst duet “Would You Rather” directed by Phoebe’s brother Jackson Bridgers; Johnny Marr dropped the video for “The Priest” ft. Maxine Peake; Justin Skye dropped the Laurieann Gibson & Life Garland video for “Don’t Think About It” off the album Ultraviolet available January 19; Lucy Dacus announced the new album Historian available March 2 through Matador & dropped “Night Shift”; Kacey Musgraves announced the new album Golden Hour; Pale Waves dropped “My Obsession”; LA’s Falcons collaborated with the GTA duo on “Buyaka” feat. Stush via Fool’s Gold; Mikky Ekko dropped the live performance visual for “Blood on the Surface”; Norway’s DATAROCK dropped “Ruffle Shuffle”; Jack White dropped “Servings and Portions from my Boarding House Reach”; Elli Ingram dropped “Better Alone”; Moon Taxi dropped the single “Good as Gold”; Ryuichi Sakamoto & Alva Noto announced the 45 minute improvisation Glass available February 16 from Noton; Moby announced the new album Everything Was Beautiful, and Nothing Hurt available March 2 via Mute & dropped the video for “Like a Motherless Child” ft. Raquel Rodriguez; Ezra Koenig dropped details on upcoming Vampire Weekend album; Screaming Females’ Marissa Paternoster & Laura Veirs dropped the video for “Deeply” recorded by Hutch Harris & Jessica Boudreaux with news of the new Screaming Females album All At Once available February 23 via Don Giovanni Records & a spring tour in toe; Australia’s Stonefield signed to Flightless Records & dropped “Delusion” & announced tour; Kesha & Macklemore announced the “Adventures of Kesha and Macklemore” tour; Jeezy announced the “Cold Summer tour”; Ministry announced tour with Chelsea Wolfe & dropped the video for “Antifa”; Gang of Youths announced tour; G-Eazy announced tour; David Byrne announced tour; The Cure celebrating 40 years of being a band with July 7 show at London’s Hyde Park; Savannah Stopover lineup buzz; Okeechobee Music & Arts Festival buzz; Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 2018 buzz; Chance the Rapper hung out with Oscar the Grouch; Frank Ocean revealed the Grand Theft Auto radio station titled blonded Los Santos 97.8 FM; Squarepusher’s video game sounds; SZA, Metro Boomin & 21 Savage immortalized as statues at Brooklyn Museum; Wayne Coyne’s weird blood arts; QOTSA’s Josh Homme kicked photographer Chelsea Lauren in the head & more; Gene Simmons sued for alleged sexual battery; charges of rape dropped against Nelly; we said good bye to Cibo Matto; we remember Pat DiNizio of the Smithereens, celebrate the life of Ralph Carney & the works of Michael Prophet; and Morrissey released a statement regarding the accuracy of the recent controversial interview (and Spiegel Online released audio of the interview in question).
Moving along, it is now our pleasure & privilege to present the following exclusives, interviews & insights from Cool Calm Chrys, Lemuria, Yared Kiflai, Austra, Cedie Janson, Exray’s, phem, a four-way split from House of Low Culture, EMS, Daniel Menche & Caustic Touch, featuring guest selections by Fat Tony & more—in no particular order.

Week in Pop Quick Links (Table of Contents):

1. Cool Calm Chrys
2. Lemuria
3. Yared Kiflai
4. Austra
5. Cedie Janson
6. Exray’s
7. phem
8. four-way split from House of Low Culture, EMS, Daniel Menche & Caustic Touch
9. Week in Pop media roundup
10. Fat Tony’s Week in Pop guest selections