Week in Pop: Caicos, Romantic Thriller, YASSOU

Post Author: Sjimon Gompers

Surveying the arts & artists that inspire us, Impose’s Week in Pop presents some of the week’s breakout upstarts that are changing & shaping our world for the better.

Week in Pop Quick Links (Table of Contents):

1. Caicos
2. Romantic Thriller
4. Fat Tony
5. Ghostel
7. Saw Tooth Wave
8. Young Galaxy
9. Week in Pop media roundup
10. Kississippi’s Week in Pop guest selections
But first we present some of the week’s biggest stories & buzz with news that Cardi B released Invasion of Privacy & dropped the video for “Bartier Cardi” ft. 21 Savage; Melody’s Echo Chamber announced the new album Bon Voyage available June 15 via Fat Possum & dropped the animated video for “Breathe In, Breathe Out”; Beach House dropped the Zia Anger video for “Dark Spring”; Ryan Pollie (of 93 Bulls, fka Los Angeles Police Department) dropped “Blackout”; Drake dropped the new single & video “Nice For What” starring starring Issa Rae, Letitia Wright, Misty Copeland, Olivia Wilde, Rashida Jones, Tiffany Haddish, Syd of the Internet, Tracee Ellis Ross, etc; Johnny Jewel remixed SSION & Ariel Pink’s “At Least the Sky is Blue”; A$AP Rocky dropped “A$AP Forever” ft. Moby & an epic performance on “Jimmy Fallon”; World’s Fair dropped “Win4” ft. Jeff Donna, Cody B. Ware, Nasty Nigel; Hop Along dropped their new album Bark Your Head Off, Dog via Saddle Creek; John Maus announced career spanning box set arriving April 20 with word of new album Addendum available May 18 via Ribbon Music & dropped “Episode”; FAN dropped the Joe Baughman video for “Velour” off Barton’s Den available May 4 via Polyvinyl; LANZ dropped “125 BPM” from the album Hoferlanz II available April 13 via Brassland; Makeness dropped “Who Am I To Follow Love” off the upcoming Loud Patterns available April 6 via Secretly Canadian; Flatbush Zombies dropped Vacation (The Movie) starring John Leguizamo, Lin-Manuel Miranda & Ice-T; Sofi Tukker dropped “Batshit”; Azealia Banks dropped “Anna Wintour” produced by Junior Sanchez off Fantasea II; John Legend dropped “A Good Night” produced by BloodPop®; Beastie Boys’ Ad-Rock remixed Spoon’s “Can I Sit Next to You”; Saba dropped “Logout” ft. Chance the Rapper; Agnes Obel announced the album Late Night Tales Compilation available May 25 & dropped “Poem About Death”; Inspired & the Sleep dropped “First Time”; Riah dropped the video for “Prom”; Freedom Fry dropped the visual for their title track “Classic” off the debut album available June 1; LEYA (Adam Markiewicz & Marilu Donovan) announced the NNA Tapes album The Fool available May 11 & dropped the Kathleen Dycaico & Matthew Mann video for “Sister”; Kevin Krauter announced the new album Toss Up available June 15 from Bayonet Records & dropped “Rollerskate”; SOPHIE dropped the Aaron Chan & Imogene Strauss video for “Faceshopping”; Bruno Major dropped the “Cold Blood” remixes & tour dates; Eleanor Friedberger dropped the Scott Jacobson video for “Make Me a Song”; The Get Up Kids announced their upcoming Kicker EP for Polyvinyl & dropped the lyric video for “Maybe”; Ladytron dropped the Fernando Nogari video for “The Animals”; Death Grips Year of the Snitch cover art revealed; Arctic Monkeys announced the new album Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino available May 11 via Domino & dropped the title track; Dust dropped “Dead Eyes” & the album Blackout Summer via Polyvinyl; Jack Ladder & The Dreamlanders dropped “Feel Brand New” off Blue Poles available May 4 via Terrible Records; Austin’s Swimming With Bears dropped the video for “French Girls”; BODEGA announced a European tour, dropped “Can’t Knock The Hustle” off the debut album Endless Scroll available June 1 via What’s Your Rupture?; James Bay dropped the acoustic single “Us”; Eminem dropped the James Larese video for “Framed”; Jon Hassell announced the long-awaited new album Listening to Pictures (Pentimento Volume One) available June 8 via the artist’s imprint Ndeya Records & dropped “Dreaming”; Seth Graham celebrates the release of Gasp with a headline spot at the Noumenal Loom & Orange Milk showcase April 27 at H0L0 Art Gallery; Amen Dunes announced tour in support of new Sacred Bones album Freedom; Glassjaw & Quicksand announced the summer co-headlining tour; Franz Ferdinand announced summer dates; Brian Wilson announced a holiday tour; Outside Lands lineup buzz; the majority of Drag City’s extensive catalog is now streaming on various popular platforms; Empire Records the musical is in the works; Migos’ tour bus bust; major gender pay gap revealed by UK major labels; and we celebrate the lives & talents of Janka Nabay & pianist Cecil Taylor.
As we continue onward it is now our pleasure & privilege to present the following interviews, insights & exclusives from Caicos, Romantic Thriller, YASSOU, Fat Tony, Ghostel, HAETHOR, Saw Tooth Wave, Young Galaxy, featuring guest selections by Kississippi & more—in no particular order.