Week in Pop: Floam, Pleather, Sis

Post Author: Sjimon Gompers

Standing in solidarity with the students as we push for a more peaceful, safer & kinder world—Impose’s Week in Pop presents the latest breaking media exclusives from today’s artists of the new enlightenment.

Week in Pop Quick Links (Table of Contents):

1. Floam
2. Pleather
3. Sis
4. Cool Calm Chrys
5. Foliage
6. Memory Keepers
7. Michael Beach
8. Post Animal
9. Rearranged Face
10. Reality Something
11. Tess Roby
12. Week in Pop media roundup
13. Nectar’s Week in Pop guest selections
Presenting first a headline rundown of the some of the week’s top buzz, big news as Kendrick Lamar won the 2018 Pulitzer Prize for Music for the album DAMN.; Janelle Monáe dropped “I Like That”; Tyler, the Creator dropped “Rose Tinted Cheeks”; Kanye West announced two new album & Kid Cudi collaboration called Kids See Ghost; Drake announced the new album Scorpion available this June; Nicki Minaj dropped the video for “Chun-Li”; Lotic announced the new album Power available July 13 via Tri Angle & dropped “Hunted”; Lykke Li announced the album so sad so sexy available June 8 & dropped the singles “hard rain” & “deep end“; J. Cole dropped the album KOD & delivered the video for “ATM; Deafheaven dropped the new single & visual for “Honeycomb” & announced the new album Ordinary Corrupt Human Love available July 13 via ANTI- with word of a summer tour; Mitski x Xiu Xiu dropped “Between the Breaths”; Chris Reimer, formerly of Women, dropped “Beneluxx” off Hello People available May 4; Cut Worms dropped the Elizabeth Skadden & Sara Kinney video for “Cash For Gold” off the album Hollow Ground available May 4 via Jagjaguwar; Post Malone announced the new album Beerbongs & Bentleys available April 29 from Republic; Let’s Eat Grandma dropped the Balan Evans video for “It’s Not Just Me” ft. production from SOPHIE & Faris Badwan of the Horrors; Ariana Grande dropped “No Tears Left to Cry”; Vacationer announced the new album Mindset available June 22 via Downtown & dropped “Being Here”; Jorja Smith announced the new album Lost & Found available June 8; Scarlett Johansson & Pete Yorn announced the Apart EP available June 1 & dropped “Bad Dreams”; The Bones of J.R. Jones dropped “Know My Name” off the album Ones To Keep Close available May 11; SONI withanEYE dropped the video for “Rebel” & released the album of the same name; Styles P, of the Lox, dropped “Heat of the Night” of the upcoming G-Host album available May 4; Del the Funky Homesapien & Amp Live dropped “Help” & released Gate 13; Homeboy Sandman & Edan announced a collaborative album available this summer via Stones Throw & dropped “#NeverUseTheInternetAgain”; wifisfuneral dropped the “25 Lighters (Remix)” ft. Curren$y; Matthew Chaim dropped “Crash”; The Essex Green announced the new album Hardly Electronic available June 29 via Merge & dropped “Sloane Ranger”; CupcakKe dropped the video for “Spoiled Milk Titties”; Kid Koala, aka Eric San, dropped “Big Trouble In Little Battle”; D.A. Stern dropped the new EP Isn’t It Obvious? via Slumberland Records; Sleep released the new album The Sciences; Hudson Taylor (siblings Alfie & Harry Taylor) dropped the acoustic session for “Easy Baby”; Father John Misty announced the new album God’s Favorite Customer available June 1 via Sub Pop/Bella Union & dropped “Just Dumb Enough to Try” & “Disappointing Diamonds Are the Rarest of Them All“; My Morning Jacket’s Jim James announced the new album Uniform Distortion available June 29 from ATO & dropped the Ellis Bahl video for “Just a Fool”; Andrew W.K. dropped the Tim Dennesen video for “Music is Worth Living For”; The Voidz dropped “Coul as a Ghoul”; Thelma dropped the video for “If You Let It” off the self-titled album debut via Tiny Engines; Courtney Barnett dropped “City Looks Pretty”; Yonatan Gat dropped “Cue the Machines”; Katelyn Tarver dropped “LY4L” off the Kool Aid EP available July 20; Screaming Females dropped the “End Of My Bloodline” Remix ft. Moor Mother & Sammus; Otto Orlandi dropped “Fever” ft. RAYNE & Karmello; A Perfect Circle dropped “So Long and Thanks for All the Fish”; Eleanor Friedberger dropped “Everything” off Rebound available May 4 via Frenchkiss with a tour starting next week; Okkervil River dropped “Famous Traechotomies” from their new album In The Rainbow Rain available April 27 via ATO Records; Liz Phair dropped the “Bomb” demo; Gang of Four dropped “Ivanka (Things You Can’t Have)” off their upcoming Complicit EP; Varsity set out on their spring tour to support their upcoming album Parallel Person available April 27 via Babe City Records; Musicians Take Aim to End Gun Violence compilations sponsored by the non-profit Stop Handgun Violence features Rogue Wave, Pile , Twin Peaks, Madeline Kenney, Sun Kil Moon, with upcoming shows ft. Dana Bouy & Wild Pink in San Jose April 26 & San Francisco April 28; Six Organs of Admittance announced a tour featuring select dates with Om; The Jesus Lizard announced a tour; Neko Case announced a tour; Lauryn Hill announced a tour celebrating 20 years of The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill; Bonnaroo lineup buzz; Kanye West’s book begins via a litany of Tweets; Sarah P. dropped her first book Who Am I – Seasonal Queries & Thoughts; the Prince Estate in conjunction with Warner Bros. dropped the original version of “Nothing Compares 2 U” & Prince memoir is in the works; Torres has apparently been dropped by 4AD; The Numero Group versus Record Store Day; Massive Attack celebrating 20 years of Mezzanine by encoding it to DNA; KEXP’s $10 million donation; Kodak Black felony charges dropped; George W. Bush awarded the Medal for Distinguished Leadership; and we remember the life & works of Avicii.
As we carry forward it is now our pleasure & privilege to present the following insights, interviews & exclusives from Floam, Pleather, Sis, Cool Calm Chrys, Foliage, Memory Keepers, Michael Beach, Post Animal, Rearranged Face, Reality Something, Tess Roby, featuring guest selections by Nectar & more—in no particular order.