Week in Pop: Delorean Gray, Loi Loi, TMBG

Post Author: Sjimon Gompers

Never mind the civic shutdown hype, Impose’s Week in Pop brings you the brighter side of the wide world of progressive arts & artists. Bringing you some of of the latest breaking media exclusives, we first bring you some of the week’s top stories, such as Kanye & Kim Kardashian West celebrating the third addition to their family with the arrival of Chicago West; George Clinton dropped the new Parliament track “I’m Gon Make U Sick O’Me” ft. Scarface off the upcoming album Medicaid Fraud Dog; Drake dropped “God’s Plan” & Diplomatic Immunity” off Scary Hours; My Bloody Valentine announced their first show since 2013 with news of an appearance at Japan’s Sonicmania; Chicago’s CupcakKe’s dropped the video for “Duck Duck Goose” off the album Ephorize & announced a tour; Mount Eerie announced the new album Now Only available March 16 from Phil Elverum’s own imprint P.W. Elverum & Sun & dropped “Distortion”; Migos announced that Culture II will be available January 26 & Quavo dropped a preview; August Greene (Common, Robert Glasper & Karriem Riggins) dropped “Optimistic”; Young Thug dropped “MLK” ft. Trouble & Shad Da God in honor of Martin Luther King Jr. Day; Juicy J dropped “Got Em Like” ft. Wiz Khalifa & Lil Peep off the mixtape ShutDaFukUp; Hinds announced their second album I Don’t Run available April 6 via Mom + Pop & dropped their video for “New For You”; Mint Field’s debut album Pasar de las Luces will be available February 23 via Innovative Leisure & dropped the video for “Ojos En El Carro”; Teenage Wrist announced the debut album Chrome Neon Jesus available March 9 via Epitaph & dropped “Dweeb”; Fischerspooner dropped the Tom C J Brown video for “TopBrazil” off the album Sir available February 16 via Ultra; Beck dropped the Brook Linder video for “Fix Me”; ZGTO, Shigeto & ZelooperZ, dropped the short film A Piece of the Geto; Tinashe dropped the video for “No Drama” ft. Offset; Quality Control’s own Kollision dropped the mixtape Better Than Yesterday; Hanz dropped the video for “Plasty I” from the EP of the same name available now via Tri Angle; A$AP Ferg dropped “Family”; Amen Dunes dropped the Steven Brahms video for “Miki Dora” off Freedom available March 30 via Sacred Bones; XL Recordings boss Richard Russell announced the debut Everything Is Recorded album Everything Is Recorded by Richard Russell available February 16 via XL & dropped the video for “Bloodshot Red Eyes” ft. Infinite & Green Gartside; Sylvan Esso dropped the Dan Huiting, Kobamm Productions & Meow Wolf video for “PARAD(w/m)E”; Abra dropped “B.R.A.T.”; Parisian artist Uppermost dropped “Slide” ft. Yudimah off the new album Perseverance available March 23; Saintseneca dropped “The Wandering Star”; Jorja Smith dropped the video for “Let Me Down” ft. Stormzy; NBA collaborating with KITSUNÉ for the America 5 Music Compilation & North American Tour & dropped the IshDARR track “Glass”; Tee Grizzley & WeBuyGold collaborated on an episode of “Mr. Grizzley’s Magic Wraith”; Carnage & Lil Pump dropped “i Shyne”; The National dropped the Casey Reas video for “Walk It Back”; Montero dropped the Sean McAnulty video for “Running Race” featured off the album Performer available February 2 via Chapter Music; Kylie Minogue announced the new album Golden available April 6 & dropped “Dancing”; Yo La Tengo announced the new album There’s a Riot Going On available March 16 from Matador & dropped new songs; Hot Snakes’ new album Jericho Sirens will be available March 16 from Sub Pop & they dropped “Six Wave Hold-Down”; Shannon & The Clams dropped the Ryan Daniel Browne video for “Did You Love Me”; Phoenix dropped the Ti Amo demos; KUNZITE, Mike Stroud of Ratatat & Agustin of White Flight, dropped “Monks”; Ed Romanoff dropped the video for “Less Broken” off the album The Orphan King available February 23; The Soft Moon dropped “Choke”; VÉRITÉ dropped the video for “Saint”; CHAPPO announced the new album Do It produced by John Vanderslice at Tiny Telephone Recording available February 23 via Votiv Music & dropped “Cry On Me”; The Sea and Cake announced the new album Any Day available May 11 from Thrill Jockey dropped the title track; Pinky Pinky dropped the title track from their upcoming Hot Tears EP available on Valentine’s Day (February 14); Mouse On Mars dropped “Dimensional People Part III” ft. Justin Vernon; DATAROCK dropped “Laugh in the Face of Darkness”; Haich dropped the Unbalanced EP via Stem; Of Montreal announced the new album White is Relic/Irrealis Mood available March 9 from Polyvinyl & dropped “Paranoiac Intervals/Body Dysmorphia”; Mahogany LOX dropped the lyric video for “It Is What It Is”; Moon Taxi dropped “Not Too Late” off their just released album Let the Record Play; Synapson dropped the Mary Clerté video for “Hide Away” ft. Holly; Zeal & Ardor dropped “Baphomet”; Bleachers dropped “Alfie’s Song (Not So Typical Love Song)”; EELS announced the new album The Deconstruction available April 6 via E Works/PIAS & dropped the title track; U2 dropped the Broken Fingaz Crew video for “Get Out of Your Own Way”; Grand Analog dropped the visual for “Mutations” ft. Posdnuos of De La Soul; Preoccupations announced the new album New Material available March 23 via Jagjaguwar & dropped “Espionage”; The Decemberists announced the new album I’ll Be Your Girl available March 16 dropped “Severed”; MGMT’s new album Little Dark Age will be available February 9 via Columbia followed by an upcoming tour; Crumb announced spring tour including SXSW & dates with Combo Chimbita; Alvvays announced a spring tour; Jack White announced tour; Fleet Foxes announced tour dates; Karin Dreijer of Fever Ray to embark upon a North American tour; Afghan Whigs & Built to Spill announced a joint tour; The National announced tour dates with Big Thief; Deerhoof to be the guest curator for Calgary’s Sled Island Music & Arts Festival; David Byrne announced a world tour; Dead & Company announced a tour; Kendrick Lamar, Sam Smith, U2 & more performing at this year’s Grammy Awards; Future to produce the remake of Super Fly; Tom Hardy’s 1999 mixtape emerged; RZA dropped a PETA ad; Mike D dropped insights on the upcoming Beastie Boys book; Brian Wilson’s high school-era failing grade in music was reversed; Yams Day ended early after fights broke out; Merriweather Post Pavilion roof collapsed; Offset from Migos apologized for homophobic lyric; Too Short sued for alleged sexual battery; former bassist for the Ataris Michael Davenport’s alleged telemarketing scam; Kodak Black arrested; and we remember the life & works of Fredo Santana & celebrate the life of Dolores O’Riordan of the Cranberries.
As we continue onward, it is now our pleasure & privilege to present the following interviews, exclusives & insights from Delorean Gray, Loi Loi, They Might Be Giants, There’s Talk, Well Well Well, featuring guest selections by Pearl Charles & more—in no particular order.

Week in Pop Quick Links (Table of Contents):

1. Delorean Gray
2. Loi Loi
3. They Might Be Giants
4. There’s Talk
5. Well Well Well
6. Week in Pop media roundup
7. Pearl Charles’s Week in Pop guest selections