Week in Pop: Dan Koshute, Foliage, Half Stack

Post Author: Sjimon Gompers

With the media circuses of SXSW & the advent of Record Store Day upon us, Impose’s Week in Pop strives to keep the spirit of International Women’s Day marching year-round, presenting a weekly showcase of upstarts that are evolving our aesthetic perspectives.

Week in Pop Quick Links (Table of Contents):

1. Dan Koshute
2. Foliage
3. Half Stack
4. Dr Fadeaway
5. Freak Heat Waves
6. Helena Deland
7. Praa & Maximilien
8. Small Medium
9. Thyla
10. Week in Pop media roundup
11. Soccer Mommy’s Week in Pop guest selections
But before we explore the latest breaking world exclusives, we bring you a rundown of the week’s biggest headlines with news that Sade dropped “Flower of the Universe”; Shamir dropped the album Resolution; World’s Fair returned & dropped the Nisty Nigel video for “Elvis’ Flowers (on my grave)” off their debut album New Lows arriving this spring from Fool’s Gold; Beach House dropped “Dive” off their upcoming album 7 available May 11 through Sub Pop/Bella Union/Mistletone; Kevin Shields of My Bloody Valentine talked about the reissues of Loveless, Isn’t Anything & a new EP; Lil Wayne dropped “Vizine”; Michelle Zauner dropped the new Japanese Breakfast video for “Boyish”; Hinds dropped the single “The Club” off the release I Don’t Run available April 6 from Mom + Pop; Bishop Nehru dropped “Up Up And Away” ft. LION BABE, produced by Kaytranada; Sunflower Bean dropped the Olivia Bee video for “Twentytwo” from the upcoming album Twentytwo in Blue available March 23 via Mom + Pop; FKA twigs danced to Anderson .Paak’s new single “Til It’s Over” in a Spike Jonze directed HomePod commercial; serpentwithfeet dropped the Andrew Thomas Huang video for “bless ur heart” off the upcoming album soil available June 8 via Secretly Canadian/Tri Angle; upon signing to Fat Possum, Royal Trux are now on Spotify & all streaming platforms; the Armed dropped the Tony Wolski video for “Role Models” starring Tommy Wiseau; Smerz dropped the Have fun EP via XL Recordings; Wax Idols announced the new album Happy Ending available May 16 & dropped “Scream” & news of west coast tour; T-Pain remixed Cardi B’s “Bartier Cardi” (T-Mix); Vince Clarke remixed Ladytron’s “The Animals”; Neko Case dropped “Hell-On”; Brian Eno & Kevin Shields announced another collaborative track with the upcoming “The Weight of History” available on RSD April 21; FAN, aka The Dodos’ Meric dropped “Bob1” off the upcoming album Barton’s Den available May 4 via Polyvinyl; Cut Worms, oka Max Clarke, announced the debut album Hollow Ground available May 4 via Jagjaguwar produced by Jonathan Rado & Jason Finkel & dropped the lyric video for “Don’t Want To Say Goodbye” & will be touring this May with King Tuff; Parquet Courts dropped “Wide Awake”; King Krule dropped the video for Live on the Moon from Molten Jets; Jon Hopkins announced the new album Singularity available May 4 from Domino & dropped the Robert Hunter & Elliot Dear video for “Emerald Rush”; K.Flay dropped “Run For Your Life”; Forever M.C. dropped “Piranhas” ft. Wu-Tang Clan; Jeremih dropped The Chocolate Box EP; Seattle’s Sango dropped “Khlorine” off the upcoming album In The Comfort Of available March 16 from Last Gang; Wiretap Records launched the 2018 Record Club subscription series; Beach Slang’s own James Alex announced the debut Quiet Slang album Everything Matters But No One Is Listening available May 18 via Polyvinyl & dropped “Dirty Cigarettes”; Grouper, aka Liz Harris, announced the new album Grid of Points available April 27 via Kranky & dropped “Parking Lot”; The Skull Eclipses dropped their debut album via Western Vinyl; Kraus dropped Path via Terrible Records; Logic dropped Bobby Tarantino II with a “Rick and Morty” cartoon; Kassin & Domenico Lancellotti announced the new albums Relax & The Good Is A Big God available May 11 via Luaka Bop & Kassin dropped “Momento De Clareza” & Domenico Lancellotti dropped the video for “Asas”; Pussy Riot dropped the Matt Creed produced video for “Bad Apples” ft. Dave Sitek of TV on the Radio; The Cranberries announced their final album; Jess Williamson dropped the Malcolm Elijah video for “I See What” off the upcoming Mexican Summer release Cosmic Wink; Eleanor Friedberger dropped the Danny Perez video off Rebound available May 4 & touring with the Decemberists; The Unlikely Candidates dropped the visual for “Oh My Dear Lord”; J Mascis covered Led Zeppelin’s “Tangerine”; Marilyn Manson & Rob Zombie announced the co-headlining “Twins of Evil: The Second Coming Tour”; Childish Gambino announced a tour; Young Fathers released the new album Cocoa Sugar & announced tour with LCD Soundstyem; Eric B. & Rakim announced a tour; Adult Mom’s Soft Spots is out now via Tiny Engines & is currently on tour with Lucy Dacus; Mitski announced “A Solo Tour of Beautiful Places”; Dirty Projectors announced a tour, Deehunter announced a tour; The Weather Station, oka Tamara Lindeman, announced a tour; Paramore announced tour with Foster the People; Ted Leo and the Pharmacists announced the fifteenth year anniversary of Hearts of Oak with a tour; MC5’s Wayne Kramer announced the “Kick Out the Jams: The 50th Anniversary Tour”; Meltdown fest curated this year by Robert Smith of the Cure lineup buzz (My Bloody Valentine, Nin
e Inch Nails, Mogwai, Kristin Hersh, the Libertines, etc); Burger Boogaloo lineup buzz; David Lynch’s Festival of Disruption lineup buzz; Red Bull Music Festival New York 2018 buzz; Earl Sweatshirt launched his DEATHWORLD spring collection; Sarah P dropped the latest EraseRestart Instazine issue with the topic of “at work”; Vince Staples launched the #GFOMD GoFundMe, promotion for a new single; the estate of Ol’ Dirty Bastard launched a cryptocurrency called “Dirty Coin”; Martin “Pharma Bro” Shkreli has to surrender Wu-Tang’s Once Upon a Time in Shaolin & Lil Wayne’s Tha Carter V & was sentenced to seven years in prison; Migos sued for allegedly starting a riot; Fyre Festival’s Billy McFarland pled guilty to wire fraud; Billy Corgan’s Zuzu Teahouse is closing on March 18 & Corgan alluded to more Smashing Pumpkins material on the way; Rick Ross released from the hospital; documentary on the tragic “27 club” 27 Gone Too Soon will be released March 26 via Bulldog Films; NME will cease to be a printed publication; and we remember Tower Records’ founder Russ Solomon & Veronica Falls/Boys Forever/Basic Plumbing’s Patrick Doyle.
Continuing forward & upward, it is now our pleasure & privilege to present the latest interviews, insights & exclusives from Dan Koshute, Foliage, Half Stack, Dr Fadeaway, Freak Heat Waves, Helena Deland, Praa & Maximilien, Small Medium, Thyla, featuring guest selections by Soccer Mommy & more—in no particular order.