Week in Pop: Ghost Soda, Joey Nebulous, S.al

Post Author: Sjimon Gompers

Offering an array of winter warmth to help everyone brave the elements; Impose’s Week in Pop returns to keep the season bright with breaking media exclusives & some of the week’s biggest headlines. Delivering now some of the week’s top stories, we present news that Shannon & The Clams announced the new album Onion available February 16 from Easy Eye Sound & dropped the Ryan Daniel Browne video for “The Boy”; Lil B announced a cooking show debuting December 9 via AwesomenessTV; Kanye West launched the sixth season of the Yeezy fashion brand; Three One G released the Love Oakland album dedicated to the 36 lives lost in the Ghost Ship Fire in Oakland December 2, 2016 with all proceeds benefiting The Oakland Family Fund; Cults dropped “I Got Your Message” feat. Christopher Owens; Cuz Lightyear dropped the Nasser Boulaich & Aditya Pamidi video for “Luce C Walker” off the EP What Up Cuz available now; Lil Wayne announced that the mixtape Dedication 6 will be available on Christmas; Charli XCX announced the new mixtape Pop2 available December 15 & dropped “Out of My Head” ft. Tove Lo & ALMA; Björk dropped the Warren Du Preez & Nick Thornton Jones video for “Utopia”; Casey announced the new album Where I Go When I Am Sleeping available March 16 via Hassle Records & dropped “Fluorescents”; Lil Uzi Vert dropped the DAPS video for “The Way Life Goes” (remix) ft. Nicki Minaj; Statik Selektah dropped “Slept to Death” ft. Curren$y & Cousin Stizz; Halifax, UK’s own The Orielles announced their debut album Silver Dollar Moment available February 16 via Heavenly Recordings; Mr Hudson & Vic Mensa dropped “Coldplay”; Bon Iver unveiled a new song; Kendrick Lamar’s DAMN. backwards collector’s edition; Jeezy album Pressure details to feature Kendrick Lamar, J Cole, Puff Daddy, Tory Lanez, 2 Chains, etc; Cardi B & Offset (Migos) dropped “Um Yea”; Nicki Minaj & Quavo from Migos dropped “She for Keeps”; Rhye announced the new album Blood available February 2 from Loma Vista & dropped “Count To Five”; Tune-Yards dropped the Dear Mr Quistgaard video for “ABC 123”; Sufjan Stevens dropped “Tonya Harding”; Caroline Rose announced the new album LONER available February 23 via New West & dropped the video for “Money” & news of tour; YBN’s Jay Almighty dropped videos for “Off Instagram“, “No Hook” & “Chopsticks“; Steve Angello dropped the video for “”Dopamine”; Liza Anne dropped the video for “Closest To Me”; The Wombats dropped “Turn”; GYASI dropped “Sugar Mama”; Nicolas Jaar dropped “Coin in Nine Hands“, “Wildflowers” & “America! I’m for the Birds“; SOPHIE dropped the video for “Ponyboy” ft. FlucT’s Monica Mirabile & Sigrid Lauren; Bossman Birdie dropped the Luke Biggins video for “Good Good” ft. Diztortion; Lionlimb announced the new album Tape Recorder available February 23 via Bayonet & dropped “Maria”; Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings dropped the video for “Sail On!”; TR/ST dropped the Ryan Heffington & Justin Tyler Close video for “Destroyer”; Jonathan Wilson announced the album Rare Birds ft. Father John Misty, Lucius, Lana Del Rey & Laraaji available March 2 via Bella Union & dropped the video for “Over the Midnight”; Jackson MacIntosh announced debut solo My Dark Side available February 23 via Sinderlyn & dropped “Lulu”; Priest dropped “The Cross”; Ty Segall announced the new album Freedom’s Goblin available January 26 from Drag City & covered Hot Chocolate’s “Every1’s a Winner”; Twin Peaks dropped “In the Meadow” & “We Will Not Make it (Not Without You)”; Pale Waves dropped the video for “New Year’s Eve”; NSTASIA dropped the video for “New Religion” from her debut EP of the same name; Charming Liars dropped the live video for “Insomnia”; The Presets dropped the Kris Moyes video for “Do What You Want”; Flavr Blue dropped the remix for “365” ft. Jay Park & Cha Cha Malone Ari; Sofi Tukker dropped the Best Friend remixes; Camila Cabello of Fifth Harmony dropped “Real Friends” & “Never Be the Same“; STACEY dropped the Dan LeMoyne co-directed video for “Trouble Is”; Alli Simpson dropped the Shawn Thomas video for “Material Boy”; AIR’s Jean-Benoît Dunckel announced the upcoming album H+ available March 16 & dropped the Akatre video for “Hold On”; Guided by Voices announced the new album Space Gun available March 23 & dropped the title track; Blondie dropped the Rob Roth video for “Doom or Destiny” starring Debbie Harry & Joan Jett; Apollo LTD dropped “Heaven”; Seattle’s Sango announced the new album In the Comfort Of & dropped the film short South End; Arjun dropped the Luke Biggins video for “Alone” ft. The PropheC; Miya Folick covered Joni Mitchell’s “Woodstock”; José James dropped covers of Bill Withers’ “Hope She’ll Be Happier” & “The Same Love That Made Me Laugh“; Gigi Rowe covered Bruce Springsteen’s “Dancing in the Dark”; The Growlers covered “Lonely This Christmas”; Son Lux dropped “Dream State (Brighter Night)” from the album Brighter Wounds available February 9 from City Slang & announced tour; L.A. Witch dropped the Allie Lane video for “Drive Your Car” & announced tour dates; The Radio Dept. announced tour; Angel Olsen announced a European tour; Ferg announced the Mad Man tour; Kevin Morby announced a tour; Ella Vos covered Queen’s “Thank God It’s Christmas” & announced a spring 2018 tour; Fleet Foxes announced spring tour; SWIMM dropped their cover of “Love You Down” & announced their festival of the same name returning February 2; Pedro the Lion announced tour; Dashboard Confessional announced tour with Beach Slang; Stone Temple Pilots announced a tour; Treefort Music Fest buzz; artists pushing to support net neutrality; James Murphy talked to Lars Ulrich; Lady Parts Justice League dropped “The Justice League We Deserve”; Feist announced the cookbook Pleasures: The Meals of an Album; Solange’s new merch; Method Man’s ugly Christmas sweater merch; Iggy Pop’s boardshorts; posthumous Jimi Hendrix song compilation Both Sides of the Sky available March 9; Queen biopic drama continues; Jarvis Cocker’s radio show “Sunday Service” will draw to a close after December 31; Wild Beasts announced their last album Last Night All My Dreams Came True available February 16 from Domino & they dropped “The Devil’s Palace”; Martin Shkreli might be forced to turn over albums from Wu-Tang’s Once Upon a Time in Shaolin & Lil Wayne’s unreleased Tha Carter V; Power Trip versus Fox News; Lil Peep toxicology revealed; and we remember renowned percussionist Sunny Murray.
As we now switch gears & lanes, it is our pleasure & privilege to present the following interviews, exclusives & insights from Ghost Soda, Joey Nebulous, S.al, Jef Maarawi, Josey Blue, Sabri, Secret Attraction, featuring guest selections by Statik Selektah & more—in no particular order.

Week in Pop Quick Links (Table of Contents):

1. Ghost Soda
2. Joey Nebulous
3. S.al
4. Jef Maarawi
5. Josey Blue
6. Sabri
7. Secret Attraction
8. Week in Pop media roundup
9. Statik Selektah’s Week in Pop guest selections