Spelling Reform, “Expiration Date”

Post Author:

Philadelphia indie rock collective Spelling Reform – comprised of Dan Wisniewski (singer, songwriter), Tom Howley (bass), Andrew Ciampa (guitar), and Mark Rybaltowski (drums) – is prepping for the follow up of their 2015 debut EP Diving Bell with their new LP No One’s Ever Changed, due out next month. We’ve got the exclusive premiere of their single “Expiration Date” right here.

Their sound as a whole is Neil Young and Wilco inspired, but with a little genre-blending twinge to it all. “Expiration Date” starts with a danceable bass, the crash of cymbals, and then the warm, Weezer-meets-Weird Al vocals of Wisniewski. It carries along at mid-tempo, expanding into an intricate narrative that we can all appreciate. Lyrics like “master of nothing / except learning how to pretend” are relatable, as they glide along the easy breezy instrumentals.

This feels like a fall song. So let’s play it on repeat.

No One’s Ever Changed is out November 18th via Black Rd Records. Keep up with the guys on Facebook and at spellingreformband.com.