Stream Wildhoney’s debut LP

Post Author:

If you’ve seen The Wire, or have at least one friend who’s seen The Wire, then the first thing that comes to mind when you hear about Baltimore probably isn’t the immense sonic wall and intoxicatingly pleasant riffs and harmonies of a shoegaze band. Wildhoney, however, want to change that. After a couple EPs, the band just released their first LP, Sleep Through It, honing a sound that seems to draw on all spectra of the genre, from blasts of fuzz to watery delayed rhythms and luminously reverbed dreampop fills. Spacey and distant (but not too distant) vocals blanket each song in warm static resonance that possesses lullaby qualities, even through the most distortion-filled hooks.

The sound’s energy is kept in check throughout the record, building the wall, and letting it fizzle into wondrous choral licks and then shocking it back again, notably on “Fall In”, “Molly” and the title track, “Sleep Through It”. The songs are written in such a way that every note or chord change in a progression creates an absence not only noticeable, but emotionally charged to feel missed, so that the next note played is obligated to fill a void… and it does.

Sleep Through It is available now on Deranged Records. You can stream the record below, and scroll on for upcoming Wildhoney tour dates.

Wildhoney tour Dates

19 Savannah, GA at Hang Fire*
20 Atlanta, GA at Wonder Root w/ Twin Studies, Yokozuna*
21 Raleigh, NC at Nice Price Books w/ Wool*
22 Richmond, VA at Strange Matter w/ Mensroom, Big No*
23 Baltimore, MD at The Crown: LP Release Party w/ Wing Dam, Outer Spaces, Big Hush*
24 Washington, D.C. at Above the Bayou w/ Big Hush, Myrrh Myrrh*
25 Brooklyn, NY at Silent Barn w/ Gingerlys, Weedhounds*

04 New York, NY at Cake Shop w/ Leave the Planet, Beliefs, Dead Leaf Echo
05 NJ at TBA
06 Philadelphia,PA at Bourbon and Branch w/ Leave The Planet
07 Baltimore, MD at The Crown w/ Leave The Planet

* with Expert Alterations