Geographic North announces winter tape series

Post Author:

Geographic North has just announced a winter tape series they’re calling Sketch for Winter, a sequence of five tape releases that will take place throughout the winter. With each artist commissioned to create pieces that explore the sonics of the season that lies before us, it will begin with A Sunny Day In Glasgow, one of the label’s first signings.

A Sunny Day in Glasgow’s New Christmas Classics is out December 3 and album opener “Shut Your Mouth, It’s Christmas” is streaming below. Proceeding that will be works from Mark Nelson on January 6, Matt Lambert of All the Saints in February, and Moses Archuleta of Deerhunter in March. Also, make sure to check out our most recent Labeled piece featuring Geographic North.

Preorder A Sunny Day In Glasgow’s New Christmas Classics on cassette at Geographic North (limited to 300).

A Sunny Day In Glasgow’s Sketch For Winter tracklisting:
01 Shut Your Mouth, It’s Christmas
02 Saturn Pulls Me Apart (Death of the Unconquerable Night)
03 Fantasia on Xmas (From Vaughan Williams)
04 The Strange Presents of Idols (Merry Christmas!)
05 All I Want for Christmas Is You (This is Peter McCallister, The Father Version)

In further ASDIG news, the band also released a video for “Crushin'” today, which is off the band’s 2014 album, Sea When Absent, on Lefse.