Kurt Vile, Ariel Pink, Chairlift, and others contribute to Recorded for Japan benefit album

Post Author:
Recorded for Japan

Ariel Pink's Haunted Graffiti, Kurt Vile, R. Stevie Moore (with members of MGMT), and a host of other artists have all contributed to Recorded for Japan, a compilation album to benefit victims of the March 11 tsunami and resulting nuclear emergency in Japan. 100% of the proceeds will go directly to the Japanese Red Cross's rebuilding and recovery efforts. Even though it's no longer the center of media focus, Japan continues to need aid, with thousands of its population still in evacuation centers and an immensely daunting reconstruction process underway.

Recorded for Japan will be available on August 4 worldwide exclusively in digital format. You can purchase it here, and, in the meantime, check out an album sampler and tracklisting below:

Recorded for Japan track list:
01 Beige, “Focus” *
02 R. Stevie Moore (feat. members of MGMT), “You Are Too Far From Me” *
03 K. Heasley, “Belief Match”
04 Ice Choir, “Two Rings” (Hard Mix)
05 Chairlift, “The Chase” (Propaganda cover)
06 Pablo Picasso, “Whip” *
07 Kurt Vile, “Been Searchin'”
08 Kuroma, “Running People”
09 Acrylics, “Sparrow Song” *
10 Violens, “When To Let Go” *
11 Erika Spring, “6 More Weeks” (Vacation Version) *
12 Patrick Cleandenim, “In My Baby's Eyes” (After Dark Version) *
13 Regal Degal, “Excuse Me Who Am I Talking To?” *
14 Ariel Pink's Haunted Graffiti, “Thespian City” (Live)

* in-studio performance