Listen: J-Live, “The Upgrade” (feat. Oddisee + Posdnous)

Post Author:

J-Live's been independent for almost a decade but don't call it underground, call it… underwater? That's what they call it on “The Upgrade” (feat. Oddisee and Posdnous), a track that's smooth 70s samples with Pos backing at a lilting bpm. It's about quality control but now that they've got their upgrade, there doesn't seem to be any rush to go anywhere. Jazzy Jeff's done a lot for J-Live, but he's only producing one track on the upcoming album, Then What Happened?, J-Live's first release since last year's Reveal the Secret EP and his first full length since 2005's The Hear After. Actually, Then What Happened? features a different producer for every track (DJ Jazzy Jeff, DJ Spinna, DJ Nu-Mark, Oddisee, Evil Dee, Nicolay, Marco Polo, Probe DMS, Yallzee, Locsmif, Kenny Keys, Cap D, Usuf Dinero). It drops May 26 on BBE.

Then What Happened? Tracklist
01 One to 31
02 Be no slave
03 The Upgrade (feat. Oddisee & Psdanous)
04 It don’t stop
05 The Undstarnding
06 The last third
07 Ole (feat. Oddy Gato)
08 What you holdin’
09 Oowee
10 The Zone (feat. Chali 2na)
11 We Are!
12 Simmer Down
13 You Out There