Week in Pop: Boy Romeo, Crown Larks, Sun Glitters

Post Author:

With hopes & wishes for world peace in our collective wacky & dangerous worlds; Impose’s Week in Pop provides a glimpse of the things that keep us inspired & hopeful for a greater tomorrow. With breaking world exclusives & more to bring, we give you some of the week’s top buzz with news that Shamir dropped the brand new album Hope; James Ferraro released the 13 minute Fanfare for the Boston Marathon 2017 on the day of the 121st marathon (available for $9.11); Open Mike Eagle along with Baron Vaughn are getting their own Comedy Central show “The New Negroes”; Globelamp debuted the Elva Lexa video for “San Francisco” off Elizabeth le Fey’s The Orange Glow; Gabrielle Smith changed her band name from Eskimeaux to Ó after exchanges between Tanya Tagaq; Lil Yachty announced the hotly anticipated debut album Teenage Emotions available May 26; Nite Jewel announced the new album Real High & dropped the Jose Wolff video for the title track (ft. Cole M. G. N.) with word of first stateside tour in half a decade; D.R.A.M. dropped “Gilligan” ft. A$AP Rocky & Juicy J; Planned Parenthood charity comp Cover Your Ass Vol. 1 will be available May 26 from Lionfish Music ft. Cass McCombs Band, Hinds, Deerhoof, (Sandy) Alex G, Speedy Ortiz, TEEN, & more; Kendrick Lamar dropped the the Little Homies (Kendrick and Dave Free) video for “DNA.” featured off the album DAMN. & later shutdown all rumors regarding a potential DAMN. companion album; Waxahatchee announced the new album Out in the Storm available July 14 from Merge & dropped the Catherine Elicson video for “Silver”; Hoops hype with new singles “Rules” & “On Top” off upcoming debut album Routines available May 5 from Fat Possum; Courtney Love interviewed Lana Del Rey; Australian icon Mikey Young (Total Control, Lace Curtain, Eddy Current Suppression Ring) announced his first solo album that launches Moniker Records‘ new synth series Your Move: The Synthtastic Solo Series For Humans 8 + with Your Move Vol. 1 available June 16 & dropped “Socks”; Midnight Sister (auteur Juliana Giraffe & music arranger Ari Balouzia) signed to Jagjaguwar & dropped their single/video, “Leave You” with word of their album available later this year; Tyler, the Creator created the theme for the Netflix show “Bill Nye Saves the World”; Strange Familia dropped their self-titled album debut; Zachary Cole Smith of DIIV covered (Sandy) Alex G’s “Icehead”; Nine Inch Nails remixed Todd Rundgren’s “Deaf Ears”; TLC returned with “Way Back” ft. Snoop Dogg, first track in 15 years; EMA announced the new album Exile in the Outer Ring available August 25 from City Slang, co-produced by Jacob Portrait of UMO & dropped “Aryan Nation”; Big Boi dropped “Mic Jack” ft. Adam Levine off the June slated album Boomiverse; after 15 years, Stretch Armstrong & Bobbito plot their return; T.I. stated that he invented trap music; Burial dropped the remix of Goldie’s “Inner City Life”; Dua Lipa dropped “Lost in Your Light” ft. Miguel off the London artist’s upcoming June 2 slated self-titled; The War on Drugs dropped “Thinking of a Place”; Eyelids supergroup consisting of members from Decemberists, Guided by Voices, Drive-By Truckers & The Jicks dropped the Chris Slusarenko & John Clark video for “Falling Eyes”; Nas x DJ Shadow dropped “Systematic”; King Krule’s Archy Marshall debuted “Untitled” & “When and Why” on Mount Kimbie’s radio program; peep A$AP Ferg & Remy Ma in the studio making “East Coast”; Phoenix dropped new sounds via a Calvin Klein ad directed by Sofia Coppola; Brainiac documentary in the works; Neil Young has finalized his Pono streaming service titled Xstream; Warpaint touring with Depeche Mode August 23-October 27; Earth, Wind & Fire announced co-headlining tour with Chic & Nile Rodgers titled “2054 The Tour”; Kraftwerk announced live album/film titled 3-D The Catalogue; David Bowie’s BOWPROMO hype; Father John Misty covered “Who Loves the Sun” & Jonathan Rado covered “I Found a Reason” (both originally Velvet Underground songs) off Mondo Boys’ Shangri-La Suite soundtrack; Father John Misty’s “Real Love Baby” will be used to advertise Discover L.A.; changes afoot with Spotify’s licensing with independent imprints; unreleased Prince works emerged today with the release of the Deliverance (& embargoed by an apparent Paisley Park Enterprises lawsuit) & you can hear the title track; Bleachers’ Jack Antonoff dropped “Hate That You Know Me” ft. Carly Rae Jepsen & Sam Dew off the upcoming album Gone Now; Jawbreaker are apparently reuniting for Riot Fest 2017 in Chicago; Bose’s wireless headphones/speakers accused of allegedly spying on their consumers; Jeezy has been named in a wrongful death suit; Spacemen 3’s Jason Pierce & Pete Kember do not want fans to buy any Space Age Recordings merch; Kevin Gates has apparently been denied bail; Raffi does does not like New Pornographers’ moniker & A.C. Newman then subsequently responded to Raffi’s tweet.
Looking forward ahead, it is our pleasure & privilege to presents exclusives, interviews, insights, etc from Boy Romeo, Crown Larks, Sun Glitters, Boulevards, Pioneer 11, Seasurfer, Yaima, featuring guest selections by Rey Pila & more—in no particular order.