Psychic Blood, “Blur World”

Post Author:

Psychic Blood’s “Blur World” is a euphoric rollercoaster ride of distortion that is both sweet and dissonant. A crushing, lush beauty trails throughout “Blur World” to create an urgency that is both hectic and striking. Western Mass punks Psychic Blood formed in 2010 and have already released a wide discography of EPs including Autumn Curses, Drrrty 7″ and Nightmare Beaches. A catalogue of dark and dense recordings of invigorating drums and driving guitars bear a resemblance to Dinosaur Jr., though it’s more of a byproduct than a conscious goal.

“Blur World” mixes a punk slam with blitzing guitars that amp up into a massive wall of noise. Psychic Blood kicks the song off with a hollow pound courtesy of drummer Eric Outhuse while guitarist Jason Vachula supplies bruising distortion. Psychic Blood packs a dynamic feast with sweet vocals that shifts from melodic into delirious ramblings. Fuzz swallows the climax of the song as Vachula repeats, “No one’s here to see you.” Vachula captures the feelings of isolating yourself and feeling detached from the world around you. “Blur World”, as well as the rest of the Alien EP capture feelings of alienation, isolation and detachment. “Blur World” is a well-crafted track that builds up into a frenzy of distortion and melodic beauty.

Psychic Blood is on tour in the fall:


18 Florence, MA @ 13th Floor Music Lounge w/ ADVAETA
19 Bennington, VT @ Bennington College w/ ADVAETA
20 Boston, MA @ Out Of The Blue w/ ADVAETA
21 Providence, RI @ Aurora w/ ADVAETA
22 Annandale-on-Hudson, NY @ Bard College w/ADVAETA
23 New Haven, CT @BAR w/ Potty Mouth
24 Kingston, NY @BSP Lounge w/ ADVAETA
26 Brooklyn, NY @ Alphaville w/ PILL and ADVAETA