Polyvinyl to release San Francisco garage comp curated by Sonny Smith of The Sunsets

Post Author:
i need you bad

As was exemplified by last weekend's Woodsist Fest, and a host of other important happenings up and down the West Coast, the scene within and around San Francisco is more than flourishing. Some might even call it a goldmine. Though our very own Sjimon Gompers has been delving deep into the NorCal (and slightly beyond) scene for a long stretch, Polyvinyl is making an effort to press some of its highlights to wax. Sonny Smith of Sonny & The Sunsets has curated the I Need You Bad compilation, giving plays to bands as far north as Portland and as far south as Los Angeles, but focusing mostly on the foggy city on a hill, San Francisco. The artwork for the comp is by Shannon Shaw of Shannon & The Clams, and will be available on limited edition green slime vinyl.

Listen to Warm Soda's unreal “Tell Me In A Whisper” here, then check out the remaining tracklist below. To enhance the California comraderie, Burger Records will be putting out a limited edition run of 300 cassettes in tandem with the vinyl release. Both will be available on November 26.

1. Tell Me In a Whisper – Warm Soda
2. Higher – Memories
3. Hot Summer – Cool Ghouls
4. Thine Eyes – Pure Bliss
5. Those Drawings I told you about – Sonny & the Sunsets
6. Dreams – Jessica Pratt
7. Far Away Place – Earth Girl Helen Brown
8. Premonition – Burnt Ones
9. Miracle of Life – Magic Trick
10. Open Theme – Chris Cohen
11. Wash – Fronds
12. All Lone House – Little Wings
13. Honey Goes – Wet Illustrated
14. Why do you want to throw a Brick – Sunfoot
15. Sun in Rain – The Sandwitches