John Maus to Release 16 Old Tracks

Post Author:

It's summer, and school's out, so that means we'll be hearing from Dr. John Maus again, as he gets ready to play some dates across the country. He's also releasing, on Ribbon, a collection of tracks he released before he was signed, titled A Collection of Rarities and Previously Unreleased Material. As you may know, John was recording for years extremely independently, forging tapes on a crucible in his basement and sending them only to selected consumers, as well as posting up tracks on his personal web blog for the true fans to scout out. Just kidding. He was doing what everyone else was doing, which is making music for his friends. In any case, 16 of these tracks are being pressed to vinyl, including 500 copies of a rosy pink version that will only be available through Ribbon directly, and the cover is by Wolfgang Tillmans. Download “Mental Breakdown” below; this track never appeared anywhere before except for Maus's web site.

Dates (SO FAR –cough cough hint hint hint big announcement coming soon from Impose cough cough):

06-15 Toronto, ONT – Lee's Palace (NXNE)
07-12 New York, NY – Pier 84 (River Rocks Series) *
07-20-22 Seattle, WA – Capitol Hill Block Party
08-09 Oslo, Norway – Oya Festival
08-10 Gothenburg, Sweden – Way Out West Festival
* w/ Dan Deacon
Track listing for the release:
1. North Star (2008)
2. The Law (2003)
3. Castles in the Grave (2010)
4. Angel of the Night (2010)
5. Mental Breakdown (2004)
6. Bennington (2007)
7. Big Dumb Man (2003)
8. No Title (Molly) (2008)
9. Lost (2003)
10. All Aboard (2007)
11. This is The Beat (2005)
12. My Hatred is Magnificent (2008)
13. The Fear (2003)
14. Fish With Broken Dreams (1999)
15. Rock the Bone (2008)
16. I Don't Eat Human Beings (2008)