Several Microphones albums to be reissued on Phil Elverum's label

Post Author:

This is the best news we've heard all day. Mount Eerie's Phil Elverum, former lead man behind lo-fi garagerock K Records legend The Microphones, has announced that he will reissue five Microphones albums in the coming months on his label P.W. Elverum & Sun, Ltd. The last real release we heard from Elverum's crowning project was in 2007 with Two Songs by the Microphones, so getting to revel in the huge breadth of their album will be a joyful return for a K Records favorite. Elverum has set up several bonuses and goodies to go with the remastered releases, as well. Here's what he's got in store:

March 5: Song Islands, 2xLP vinyl with gatefold jackets, a fold-out poster, and download card
April 16: Don't Wake Me Up, also remastered with gatefold jackets, poster, and new pictures
May 28: It Was Hot, We Stayed in the Water, which will include high resolution scans of the artwork's collages by Khaela Maricich of The Blow, gatefold packaging, and other surprises
July 9: The Glow Pt. 2, which will be different from the 2008 K Recs reissue
August 20: Mount Eerie, with gatefold jackets made of textured paper, with art and lyrics

It's going to be a good summer.