New Animal Collective EP in May

Post Author:

Here's the first release since one of our favorite releases of 2007, Strawberry Jam.

All tracks find Animal Collective exploring strange new waters

All tracks recorded with Scott Colburn at Wavelab Studio (Tucson, AZ), except Seal Eyeing by Nicolas Vernhes

All mixed with Nicolas Vernhes at Rare Book Room (Brooklyn, NY)

Track List for Water Curses, with accompanying descriptions from the press release:

1. Water Curses takes an unexpected rhythm and throws it up, down and sideways to produce the sound of a smile. A technique that Animal Collective are now in a position to call their own.

2. Street Flash is nearly seven minutes of spaced out hollers, electronics and lullabies that luxuriate in a chord sequence running through a delay that sounds like it's made of honey. Threatening to explode but laying back on itself instead the track is like a particularly lucid dream.

3. Cobwebs is equally languid. Weaving itself around a vocal that sounds like it's imagining some new kind of space church for Al Green to conduct weddings until it slowly fades away into a sticky ether.

4. Seal Eyeing is the moment you realize watching vapor trails melt into the sky is not only the most constructive thing you can do, but the only real option that's left.