Week in Pop: BSKi, The Ruby Suns, Tunabunny

Post Author:

With Northside Showcase mania in full effect; Impose’s Week in Pop proudly presents the latest breaking exclusives & some of the week’s biggest headlines (that you may have missed). While practically the entire world was consumed with James B. Comey’s senate hearing testimony, Zola Jesus announced the anticipated new album Okovi available September 8 from Sacred Bones & dropped “Exhumed”; Sheer Mag dropped the title track “Need to Feel Your Love” off the upcoming album of the same name available July 14 from Wilsuns RC & tour dates with Flesh World & Tony Molina; Agent blå dropped Agent Blue on Kanine / Luxury; SZA released the album CTRL & dropped “Doves In The Wind” ft. Kendrick Lamar; Waxahatchee dropped “Never Been Wrong” off Katie Crutchfield’s upcoming album Out of the Storm avaialble July 14 from Merge; D.R.A.M. dropped the new singles “The Uber Song” & “Group Thang” (DEMO); Ariel Pink dropped the new single “Another Weekend” off new 7″ b/w “Ode To The Goat (Thank You)”; iLoveMakonnen dropped the EP Fun Summer Vol. 1; Toro Y Moi announced the new album Boo Boo available July 7 from Carpark, changed his name from Chaz Bundick to Chaz Bear & dropped “Girl Like You”; from here on out, Thee Oh Sees will now be known as Oh Sees with word of upcoming new album Orc available August 25 from Castle Face Records & dropped “The Static God”; Jay Electronica dropped “Letter to Falon”; Guerilla Toss dropped “Betty Dreams of Green Men” off of GT ULTRA; Amber Arcades dropped the Wander Andringa video for “Wouldn’t Even Know” ft. Bill Ryder-Jones off the Cannonball EP; SZA announced CTRL available June 9 Top Dawg; A$AP Mob dropped “Wrong” ft. A$AP Rocky & A$AP Ferg; Mac DeMarco dropped the Pierce McGarry video for “One Another” with word of September 22 show at the legendary Radio City Music Hall; LA collective NVDES just played last night at The Roxy & dropped “Turning Heads”; Chrysta Bell released the album We Dissolve today & covered the “Twin Peaks” theme “Falling” with John Fryer; the group Twin Peaks dropped “Tossing Tears” via their new “Sweet ’17” subscription series; Pharrell dropped “Yellow Light”; Diet Cig dropped the Robert Julian video for “Barf Day” off their new album Swear I’m Good At This & dropped “Together We Can Conquer Whatever” off of the Amazon Original Special American Girl – Summer Camp, Friends for Life; Tycho dropped “See” ft. Beacon with news of tour with Todd Terje & The Olsens & Phantogram; M.I.A. dropped the Jaime Martin video for the Branko produced single “GOALS”; Death from Above 1979 returned with “Freeze Me”; Ibeyi dropped “Away Away”; LIV (supergroup of Lykke Li, Miike Snow, Peter Bjorn & John) dropped “Heaven”; Vince Staples dropped “Rain Come Down” ft. Ty Dolla $ign off the upcoming Big Fish Theory album available June 23 from Blacksmith/ARTium/Def Jam; Mutemath dropped “Hit Parade” off their upcoming album Play Dead; Kirin J Callinan dropped the video “Living Each Day” feat. Connan Mockasin; Björk dropped the Warren Du Preez & Nick Thornton Jones video for “Notget”; B BOYS dropped “Discipline” off of Dada available June 16 from Captured Tracks; Japanese Breakfast dropped “Boyish” off the upcoming album Soft Sounds from Another Planet available July 14 from Dead Oceans; Fleet Foxes dropped “If You Need To, Keep Time on Me”; PJ Harvey & Ramy Essam dropped the Giles Duley video for “The Camp” that depicts the displaced youths in Lebanon’s Bekaa valley; BEAK> dropped the Paloma Baeza video for “Sex Music”; Holy Oak released Second Son via HolyOak Music & dropped “Dead Time”; detailed hype for DJ Khaled’s album Grateful; Metric/Broken Social Scene’s Emily Haines & The Soft Skeleton announced the new album Choir of the Mind available September 15 from Last Gang/eOne & dropped the Justin Broadbent video for “Fatal Gift”; Joywave dropped “Shutdown”; Jacuzzi Boys announced tour & Ping Pong Remixed album available June 16 from Mag Mag & dropped “Can’t Fight Forever” (Hardly Real remix by Le Spam) & “Refrigeration” (Sci-Fi remix by Myra Stone); LANY dropped “13”; Big Boi dropped “In the South” ft. Gucci Mane & Pimp C; XYLØ dropped the acoustic video “I Still Wait For You”; St. Vincent’s Annie Clark talked about confidence & more; Mogwai dropped the Hand Held Cine Club video for “Coolverine”; Delta Heavy remixed “Lights Out” ft. Atlas by Zeds Dead; Jesse (of Pure X) dropped “Luck”; Alchemist dropped “Brother Jedidiah” ft. Action Bronson; Phoenix dropped “Ti Amo Speciale” off new album Ti Amo; Arcade Fire debuted “Signs of Life”; ShitKid dropped the debut album Fish via PNKSLM Recordings; Miley Cyrus dropped “Inspired”; Frank Ocean performed at Denmark’s NorthSide Festival; Basilica SoundScape lineup buzz; Nine Inch Nails announced Not the Actual Events EP trilogy; Alvvays announced their new album Antisocialites available September 8 from Polyvinyl/Transgressive with word of tour & they dropped “In Undertow”; Kurt Vile & Courtney Barnett announced tour & a collaborative album; Lorde dropped “Sober” off the upcoming June 16 album Melodrama with added tour dates; Bumbershoot announced lineup; The Shins announced fall tour; A-Track dropped word of DJ & Beat Battle; Missy Elliott’s dancer auditions; Apple’s HomePod; Childish Gambino, oka Donald Glover, announced that the next CG album will allegedly be his last; Noel [& Liam] Gallagher donated royalties from “Don’t Look Back in Anger” to aid family affected by the Manchester attack; Ariana Grande covered “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” as a benefit for all victims from the Manchester attack; Lil Wayne versus a bouncer; XXXTentacion attacked on stage in San Diego; charges have been made in the wake of the devastating Ghost Ship fire; and Radiohead are not breaking up.
Presenting a parade of just some of our favorites, Impose Magazine is proud to present a interviews, insights & exclusives from BSKi, The Ruby Suns, Tunabunny, Rose Hotel, Confident Hitmakers, Gary’s House, Amy Fowler & Latitude, VA Violet, featuring guest selections by Tunabunny & more—in no particular order.